Make the wife understand

68 Replies

I have been a BP student for a couple of years now.  I have worked OT, sold my stuff on EBay, worked extra for a landscaper.  I now have 15k saved up for investment. STOP!!! She wants to fix up the house we live in, maybe take a summer vacation, new clothes, shoes, maybe a different car??? Really?? All these things take us away from MY goal. What to do?

Divorce!!! Lol seriously you should have a discussion about how the money is for investment purposes. Sure it's nice to go and buy nice things when you have a little bit of cash laying around but think of all the things you could buy with a steady stream of income coming in every month. Got to pitch the long term. Good luck!!!!

Have her read this, then re-read it. 

Show her how you can invest those shoes today for better shoes tomorrow!

The one way I know to change her mind is to show here!  Do want you want to do (its your money you saved it up), then when you start bringing home checks, she will get on board.  Happened with my wife.  Now she wants to design, decorate, runs my errands, and everything.  

Disclaimer.......Don't waste away the money.  Do you're due diligence.   You'll never hear it down!!

You never said if she works or not? Explain to her all those "nice things" come at a price. Take out some of her old shoes, ask how much were these? what are they worth today? show her the blue book values of a new car, a year old , a two year old, and so on. Explain to her that is call depreciation.

Have her listen to bigger pockets podcast. Have her read rich dad poor dad.  Explain to her after after you have read these . we will sit down and talk about the purchases.  The depreciations.  The short term satisfaction of a Nice buy.   

This sounds like a good idea. One thing you never can outguess is a partners vision is not always the same as yours. 

I have felt your pain.