Sell a profitable rental to start a house flipping business?

12 Replies

Hi everyone,

This is my first time to post, so I'm hoping it's in the right place. 

I've had a rental for about three years, it's worth about 165K and I owe 65K on it.  My renters just informed me they are ready to move.  This investment earns a decent rate of return and has cash flow every month.  It's a good house, 12 years old, it strikes me as one of those rentals that could be held for a very long time.  

My question is, should I sell it to start a house flipping business?  100K would be enough to at least get started, with the help of some hard money lenders.  I've wanted to do this type of business for quite a while now, but never had the capital available to me, until now. 

So I realize this is a very broad and general question, just wanted to get some opinions of other investors.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Chad

What is your monthly rent on the property?  

I like the monthly cash flow - could you increase rent.  I am selling two properties that are in good areas but homeowner occupancy instead of rentals.  I should net $80k with both properties and I am reinvesting in rentals... for me I love the passive cash flow.

You also have to take in play capital gains.

Why would you sell it? Keep it, Refinance and pull out the equity. Use the equity to start flipping houses and still have a house that cash flows.

This is the definition of real estate investor. Use your real estate to buy more real estate.

I am a new investor but classes that I took and attended a lot of seminars seem to give the same advice as Simon Shih. If it has cash flow, and is in good condition for renting, don't sell it. Just simply pull out some equity and use it to flip houses while you can keep the cash flow.