• Investor
  • Norwood, MA
Votes |
First Time Private Lending

Tory Kelliher
  • Investor
  • Norwood, MA
Posted Dec 15 2015, 09:57

Hi, I'm new to biggerpockets and looking for some advice on first time lending. I am thinking about privately lending to a friend who has many years of successful REI experience. One of my concerns is usury laws. I live in California and here the law limits non-exempt private lending to 10% annual interest. My borrower lives and will be buying property in Massachusetts, where the law allows private lending at up to 20% interest. Does anyone know how the usury laws apply to private lending across states? Lets say he is offerering 10% interest and 1 point. Would this violate California usury law? Also, any recommendations on a good REI friendly lawyer in the Los Angeles area?

User Stats

Votes
David Tipton
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
  • Los Angeles, CA
Replied Dec 15 2015, 11:04

Here is the actual text of the California constitution regarding usury:

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/.const/.article_15

I would point you to subdivision (1) as it may help you find an answer.  I can't provide legal advice, as every situation is different and fact dependent.  This is for informational purposes only and we have no attorney-client relationship.

Feel free to PM me if you are still looking for a referral.

User Stats

Votes
Juan Carlos Quiroz Zolezzi
  • Lender
  • Upland, CA
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Upland, CA
Replied Dec 15 2015, 11:29

Hi Tory,

If you will be lending and securing the loan out of state, the law of the state where you are securing the loan would most likely apply, but I'm sure there are exceptions to this.

I would think that you need to check for the laws in Massachusetts also.

In California and in other states, but not all, you must be a licensed to secure loans with real estate, there are probably exceptions to this rule.