Why all these private lenders communicate from unofficial emails?

6 Replies

I am a newbie to RE. I am getting a lot of private lenders' emails every day. Most of them send emails from official email addresses and no contact information is mentioned. Are they legit to talk to them? or scammers?  Gurus, what do you guys think? 

What kind of questions can ask to find legit or not? 

I agree with Matthew - real lenders should have a company driven email or at least the proper signature with the company logo and license number.  Steer away from odd Gmail addresses (especially when it comes to given them your SS and other personal details) unless you've done the work to verify them.

Promotion
Avail
Landlording made easy.
Best-in-Class Platform for DIY Landlords
List unlimited units, screen tenants, draft and sign leases, and collect rent—all free.
Use Avail—Free!

Because in most states, you don't need a license to do commercial loans (in CA you do). So most of the solicitations are just sales people, that don't know a lot about loan, or even investing. Their job is to get you in the door, and then they will get paid if the loan closes. More of a buck shot approach.

Find a reputable, experienced (loans and investing) loan officer that does hard money. I would start with a mortgage broker.

@Srikanth Vadlakonda Any legitimate lender should be willing to give you their contact information and be even more willing to speak over the phone or in person.

The oldest scam in the book is fake lenders charging ridiculous up front fees and then blowing off the customer. Remember that you are a new to real estate so you may be more of a riskier borrower in the eyes of legitimate lender, anybody that is guaranteeing 100% financing with the cheapest rates you have ever seen and minimal points up front, is likely full of BS. Try connecting with a local agent or investor club to see if you can find someone local to your area, or ask around on here.

@Srikanth Vadlakonda