I have 2 friends that are having a hard time buying a home, is this an opportunity for a new investor?

7 Replies

I have 2 friends that are having a hard time buying a home, is this an opportunity for a new investor? What I mean is, can I help them find and buy a home and also help myself in investing in my first property? I know they are having a hard time proving to the lender that can make the payments. I am thinking of finding a property for them and ask about owner financing as a lease with an option to buy and lease it to them and then sell it to them after a year, me being the middle man. I am very new to this and just thought I would ask the question. 

@Robert Hidrogo

Before getting into any details, I am already hesitant for you. If they cannot prove to lender that they can make payments, then what makes you think they will pay you? Because they are "friends"? Do not know your friends at all, but it's funny what money can/will do to relationships. This may work for you, but I would be very cautious.

Good luck!

I will say that technically you could make something like that work, but as many people will warn you, working with friends or family can be a very bad choice. Not saying it always is, but it seems more often it is. I guess the question is, how much does their friendship mean to you?

When you write this:

I have 2 friends that are having a hard time buying a home, is this an opportunity for a new investor?

along with the rest of your post, I see

I have 2 friends that are having a hard time buying a home, can I make some money off them?

Because that's the bottom line of what you're asking.  Can you?  Perhaps.  But if they're your friends and they're struggling financial, do you really want to do that?

@Robert Hidrogo