• Rental Property Investor
  • Ann Arbor, MI
Votes |
Need a Real Estate focused CPA, unfortunate situation

Evan Loader
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Ann Arbor, MI
Posted Apr 19 2021, 15:59

So I have a tax situation that is unfortunately going to require me to have to terminate the services of a CPA and start over for tax year 2020. I am a MI resident, currently work overseas in Bahrain and take full advantage of the foreign earned income exclusion(FEIE) utilizing form 2555. 

I also invest passively in syndication deals that issue me a K-1. So my tax situation isn't super simple, but also not too complicated that a competent CPA who handles foreign earned income(from a US employer) and K-1s would struggle. I had a CPA that specializes in expats working overseas and he also handles K-1 forms(supposedly). He prepared/filed my taxes for 2019, he made a few small errors I discovered that were promptly corrected. No problem. I only had 2 K-1 forms for 2019 and both showed paper losses, he did not file state returns for either K-1 for 2019. He didn't apply any of the losses off my W-2 income(I'm not an active RE professional), which I didn't have an issue with as the FEIE is such a huge benefit I didn't make a fuss, I can carry the passive paper losses forward. 

Fast forward to tax year 2020 and I have 6 K-1 forms all showing a paper loss as well as still working overseas as a defense contractor. I submit all of my information to the same CPA. He sends me a draft copy of the returns as well as state returns for the LLC K-1s to preserve my loss carry forwards. It was a nightmare trying to make sense of it was so sloppy. He made the following errors just through a quick 30 minute scan, at least what I thought were: