New Jersey Landlords, Who insures your properties?

7 Replies

I have been working with Affinity Group Management for a few years and have been happy with everything so far (never had a claim so not sure how much that's worth), however I am closing on a new property this week and their cost to insure it has gone up over 20% because of 'new underwriting policies'. 

I am curious what insures others use, how much you pay, ect.

I previously paid $120 for occupied properties, and $140 for vacant for coverage up to $150K for all the basic stuff. Now Affinity is asking for over $180 for vacant under renovation, and I think I should be able to do much better. 

P.S. They insure my properties in Newark which is a high risk area

My properties are in Trenton, another high risk area. We use PhilCon (Philadelphia Contributorship) for one of them. They had insured both our properties there, until they found that one of them was next to a vacant house and dropped us. The only other option was Foremost, which charged $1300 for the year. PhilCon wasn't much better, charging $1100. Neither covers theft, as we discovered when the pipes were stolen one year.

I'm assuming your $180 payment is monthly? If it's annual, I'm switching to your company ;)

State Farm has been very good, easy, great customer service for my 2 family in Newark.  It was unoccupied when purchased and had a vacant run down house right next to it.(has been fixed up since)

We have dwelling $227k plus $50k additional coverage, 500k liability, loss of rents, a few other benefits.

$97.00/mo. premium.  Although, like you I never had to file a claim yet.

Message me for info if you'd like.