Where can I find information on my rights as a landlord when a tenant passes away?

9 Replies

So I had one of my tenants pass away at my rental property. There are still many family members living there, and they seem to be able to afford the property as is, but I was wondering if anyone knows where I might find information about my rights as a landlord in this case. I briefly browsed the internet, but there is so much conflicting information...where is the best source (government agencies included) to look for the information?

Am I allowed to require them to requalify for the property?
Am I allowed to sell it?

Does anyone know a good real estate attorney in the Denver area?

thanks guys! :)

I don't use him, but I have been to a few of his CE classes. Greg Parham. 

For this sort of thing use these guys:  http://www.thslawfirm.com/

@Ashley E.  - I'm a little late to this party but I'll chime in. I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advise so I'll start by asking a few questions. 

What is the nature of your rental agreement?  Do you have a month to month? If so Colorado allows for as little as 10 days notice to terminate that agreement. You can deliver notice that the MTM agreement ends in 10 days and see what happens. If no one contacts you then you can post 3 day notice after the 10 days expires. If no one contacts you then you can file for eviction. 

Bigger picture wise. Your rental agreement governs who can live in the property. Typically only those adults listing in the agreement can legally reside at the property. That is a violation of the lease so you can evict for that as well. 

If you are trying to get control of the property and have a say in who is living there, it's probably best to start over with new tenants. If you just want to know who exactly is there then probably reaching out to them personally is the best route.