Rules on displacing Tenants during unit repairs

9 Replies

I have a situation where an underground hot water line broke and I need to replace or run new lines. Until complete there is no hot water in the unit. We decided to run new lines. The issue is that the unit is occupied.  We lined up a temporary unit to move them to but it is 15 minutes from the current unit (friends open unit).  The occupant declined and said they would stay out of the way.  This is my first time dealing with this situation.  Is there any issues with not moving the tenants?  legal or other?  Anyone else have to deal with this?  I have read about rehabs but not repairs.  Are there any significant differences beyond must do vs wanting to do?  thanks, 

@Ames Foley I would say that if there is not hot water, then you haven't delivered a rentable unit to theme. I would not charge them rent for the days the place is under construction.

That should simplify things. Be sure to cut them a check; don't let them deduct from the regular rent payment.

Since you offered them another place at no additional cost, I would not reimburse them the days they have no hot water. I would also get something in writing from them that you offered them the other place and they declined, in case they take you to court.

I agree with Michelle that you should get something in writing and signed/dated by the tenant(s) and you saying that they declined the opportunity to stay at a place with hot water while repairs were being done. It should probably include some sort of wording about you not being liable.

This is a tricky situation. I mean, you did offer them a place, but is there anything in your lease about this provision? Ideologically I agree with Account Closed I'm just not sure what's lawfully concrete.