Rent is almost late...

20 Replies

Hi BP nation.

I only have 1 property and I am relatively new to landlording. My tenants have sent checks on time every month. Usually arriving no later than the 28th each month.

It's the 2nd and the mail man just came with no check.

I wanted to ask for some advice as I've never been in this situation.

Should I just text them? Send them an email? I'm thinking text will be the easiest but not entirely sure what to say.

Any help great appreciated

Presuming you rent is due on the first it is not almost late.  IT IS LATE. It may not be late enough to collect a late fee of file for eviction but it is still late. 

I would send a very nicely written note saying how much you appreciated their getting the rent out on time so far. The remind them the rent is due on the first. You may choose to soften it more by saying you want to make sure nothing is wrong.

Some people would take a little bit colder and more formal approach. That might be safer legally so all tenants are treated the same.

You can call, write,  text or email. I couldn't tell you which is best and my guess is it would depend on the tenant.

Thank you for your feedback, Ned.

Exactly right when I said "almost" I meant not late enough to charge a fee, but still late.

Thanks for your help

I was in the same position last month.  What I did was find a nice template from Google on Late Rent Notice.  My plan was to go to the door of the late payer and tape this to their front door.  It seems awkward, especially to a new landlord, but if you want to be respected, you have to remember you're not friends with your residents, this is a business and legal rules are in place to ensure business flows according to the mutually agreed upon contract.