My assistant manager thinks I'm being to soft- in oregon

14 Replies

I've been working at the same apartment complex for 8 years now.  I was promoted to manager early this year, and my new assistant manager has very different ideas on how to manage a property.  The asst. manager has a lot of property management experience, but all in California.  Oregon landlord/tenant laws are a bit different, so I knew when I hired her there would be a transition period.  

The issue I'm having is she is very black and white, by the book, "give them a notice and get them out" type of manager.  I am not.   I am aware that life happens to everyone, and one of the biggest lessons the previous manager taught me was; yes we manage a property for an owner, but we also provide housing for 160 households.  Having the power to affect their lives in such a major way shouldn't be taken lightly.  The property we manage is has very FEW problems.  Like dog poop is one of our biggest issues, few problems.  We do have a few residents who skirt the edge of what's acceptable as often as possible.  

One in particular has been paying late somewhat regularly.  I've had to give 72 hours notices occasionally throughout their tenancy, but the resident always pays within the 72 hours.  This resident has also been living at the property longer than I've worked there.  My assistant thinks we should just cut her loose. She's been paying late to much, and we just shouldn't tolerate it, and should tell her she needs to move.  To me this is so drastic and unnecessary. I mean at this point, I don't think I can serve a for cause notice.  Yes I have had to serve 72's sometimes, but rent gets paid.  When I make decisions, I try to think about any possible consequences.  Like if I did try to throw this tenant out, would a judge agree with me if I had to go to court?  Right now I don't think so.  She's complied with all notices.