What Fee Structure Do You Pay Your Property Manager?

12 Replies

I'm looking into PMs for a new area that I'm investing in from long distance. I've never used a PM before, so I wanted to compare notes with other investors who have used one. For instance, one PM I spoke to has the following fees:

50% of first month's rent to initialize tenant (+$50 just to draw up the lease)

8%/month rents collected

$150 flat for a renewal

This comes in at about 12.5% of gross rents in year one of a tenant's lease, and then probably closer to 9% in every year they renew. Does this seem high? How does this compare to what you have seen?

Jason, for Orlando, I strongly recommend Orlando Realty and Property Management. I did some research on the options about a year ago and they were the best. So far, they're continuing to be on top of everything and doing a great job managing a tricky tenant. They charge 9% monthly, but their annual fee structure is designed to incentivize them to keep tenants more than one year. Most places do a flat fee for move-in...which means they'll make more money by getting annual turnover.

As for other areas of the country (like Washington State), it's often 100% of first month's rent plus 10% monthly. So, while the price of yours might look good, it's worth getting a better company that you pay a little more for. 

Jason,

I would try to interview 5-10 PM companies to see what everyone charges. I prefer to use flat rate PMs at about 8% of gross monthly rent collected. I've found my PMs agree that they should only get paid when renters are occupying and paying. Plus the PMs I work with know that keeping an existing tenant is easier than loosing one so if they charged me $150 to resign an existing tenant for another then I would expect the tenant to cover that cost over the year.

Overall, I prefer flat rate but it's really up to you and the area. Good luck

Jason,