Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Griselle Monzon
  • Property Manager
  • Orlando, FL
Votes |
Basic lease or roommate lease for house hacking?

Griselle Monzon
  • Property Manager
  • Orlando, FL
Posted Nov 3 2018, 13:40

I am new to BP and always love the idea of becoming a real estate investor. I was listening to the podcast and notice we have a great tool in our hands to start our journey. We are planning to house hack our house, we have a mother-in-law suit and will like to add an extra income by making a 1 bed 1 bath with kitchen and livingroom in my house aside from the mother-in-law suit.

My question is should I do a basic month to month lease or a roommate lease to both of this rentals?

We all will be sharing the same address but all of us will have separate entrance and own privacy.

Should we rent through a company's entity or our personal name ? (For liability reasons)

Thanks for your advices in advance.

User Stats

Votes
Dennis Liu
  • Toronto, ON
Votes |
  • Toronto, ON
Replied Nov 4 2018, 10:47

Honestly, just starting out most people don't have much of a lease. 

People that I know tend to just find someone on the local ads, kijiji or craigslist

Less legal paperwork and if you do it under the table you don't have to pay taxes on the rental income either

Personally, I would go with a lease term of at least 1 year, as you might not want people in and out of your house all the time especially if you live there.

But if you are firm on getting a lease, try to ask for some legal help drafting it from a real estate agent 

I do think though you should rent out through your personal name, as there isn't much of a need for a corporate entity at such a small level (no offense)

User Stats

Votes
Richard Sherman
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Salem, OR
Votes |
  • Salem, OR
Replied Nov 4 2018, 11:13