• Reseda, CA
Votes |
Hello BP! I'm new to REI, Southern California

Aaron P.
  • Renter
  • Reseda, CA
Posted Apr 15 2015, 20:52

Hello BP Community!

My name is Aaron, 23 yrs. old, I'm new to the BP community. I've lurked the forums for about three weeks now and watched/listened/read to various webinars/podcasts and guides on getting started with real estate investing. 

I currently live in San Fernando Valley of the Greater LA county. I live with my parents and pay rent, and work as an RN at a hospital in Palmdale/Lancaster (northern end of LA county, meaning I commute 120 miles back and forth x3 days a week at a minimum).

I've decided to focus on the niche of buying rental properties, be it starter single family homes as they are the most liquid/consistent type of real estate investment (2-3 bedrooms) and multi-family (greater risk/volatility and potential for profit) rental properties to build cash-flow.

First Year Plan (2015)

I have two scenarios in mind:

A. Purchase property in Lancaster/Palmdale

- Pros: market is relatively cheaper for single/small multi-family (1-4 unites) (125-700k), VERY CLOSE to work

- Cons: Larger inventory, many foreclosures (increased competition?), unsure about current market/population trend (up, down, or sideways), many of the neighborhoods are D/C class and at best a B class. Concerns about the quality of tenants, increased crime rates, and poorer overall demographic. (This may be a bias point of view as I work in the medical field and see the worst of the worst)

B. Purchase property San Fernando Valley or areas closer to Los Angeles

- Pros: market seems to be on an up trend, population is increasing, vacancy rates for rental properties seems to be lower, lived in this area for 10 or so years, Properties tend to be in the C/B/A class depending on the neighborhood

- Cons: Market is much more expensive (300k - 2mil), much smaller inventory, potentially at the pinnacle of the market, VERY FAR from work

Financial Status