New Member: Raymond in San Mateo CA

15 Replies

Hello All! I'm a green horn to real estate investing looking to pick up some helpful tips and tricks from the community to help me get started. I've always been intrigued with real estate investing so I'm finally getting to a position where I can pull the trigger. I'm looking to learn from others that have taken the landlord approach on either SFH or MFH as their first acquisitions and what are some of the pitfalls to look out for.

My background, I'm an Army Veteran that left that world to seek out new opportunities as a civilian. After getting an MBA from SFSU, I found myself in sales, now sharing my expertise as a sales trainer for a SaaS company in Mountain View, CA. I'm married with an energetic 3.5yo daughter and an 11.5yo English bulldog. My interests are in single family homes and multiple family homes that I hold for several years to get a solid ROI before really expanding my portfolio.

I welcome your tips and tricks and look forward to learning more from each of you as I submerge myself in this bank of knowledge.

@Raymond King Welcome to BP family! Thank you very much for your service!

You will find a ton of helpful resources, especially under the Education section of BP.

My recommendation is to pick one niche in real estate and stick to it until you fully learn it and it is operating like a well oiled machine. If you need a further proof, read "One thing" by Gary Keller. 

Also, if you can go directly to multi-family then do that. Economy of scale is so much better! 

Let me know if there's anything else I can help you with. Feel free to PM.

Best of luck!