• Rental Property Investor
  • Annapolis, MD
Votes |
Naval Academy student looking for investing advice

Kevin Konrad
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Annapolis, MD
Posted Jul 21 2018, 18:07
Hello BP community! My name is Kevin, I am 23 years old and currently attending the Naval Academy in Annapolis MD. I am new to BP but have recently been trying to absorb as much knowledge as possible from the website/podcasts. I recently inherited 2 townhomes in north Denver that bring in $3000 per month after the normal expenses are paid. I am looking for any guidance on how I can smartly use the equity of those homes that are paid off and purchase a home here in Annapolis or close by. Due to my student status for the next 2 years my actual income from the Navy is very low ($300/month) but with the rentals and my personal savings (~40k) I believe I could start expanding my real estate portfolio. If there is anybody out there willing to give some advice, whether it be “full steam ahead” or “wait until you have a solid income” I would really value the advice!

User Stats

Votes
Travis Paez
  • Investor
  • Arnold, MD
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Arnold, MD
Replied Jul 21 2018, 18:52

I’m an investor in Annapolis. I’d be happy to chat about your situation and plans. Please call or email me so we can get some coffee or something.
Looking forward to it.

User Stats

Votes
Mark K.
  • Staunton, VA
Votes |
  • Staunton, VA
Replied Jul 21 2018, 19:46

@Kevin Konrad, my oldest son is a LTJG in the USCG and my youngest son is a firstie at the USCGA. Congratulations to you on the Naval Academy. I'm a retired ETC USNR.

As you know, in 2 short years when you become an Ensign, you will be making good money. I know an Ensign in the CG who bought a house in Pensacola, as he's in flight school, and he's making good money using it as an AirBNB.