New to BP. Looking to start investing soon!

16 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Jordan Rajchel. I'm from Jeffersonville, Indiana. Very close to Louisville, KY and I'm 30 years old.

I am currently a computer programmer at a connector company in my home town. I enjoy what I do but have always had the entrepreneurial spirit and feel a bit unfulfilled in the "Rat race". I have a Bachelor's degree in Business from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University and came out of school at a great time to start purchasing real estate. 

I purchased my first house as my primary residence in 2011 for 107,000. Did several small projects to the house over the next 5 years while my wife and I lived there and sold it in 2016 for 185,000. During that time, we also purchased our first rental home. We did pretty well on that one too, we purchased it for 60,000 and soon after, it burned down due to some nesting in the fireplace. After insurance pretty much paid to rebuild the entire house, we sold for 135,000. We never did rent it to anyone other than my sister-in-law for a short time.

I now live in what will probably our "forever home" and am interested in getting into real estate to start making some passive income and ultimately quit my day job.

I have listened to a TON of the bigger pockets podcasts and am primarily interested in renting, however, I also don't mind getting my hands dirty and have dabbled in contracting some jobs out myself so may get into flipping as well.

My wife and I are big fans of Dave Ramsey and are within about 5 years of paying off our house. We do not want to get back into debt after that so we are talking about working in cash. At that point I want to be ready to quit my day job and do real estate full time. My wife makes enough money to support us without a house payment and gets insurance through her job so that should make this dream a bit more realistic.