Newbie from Columbus, Ohio - How do you stay positive?

10 Replies

Hello BP! My name is Cody and I'm a total noob.  I found BP after getting the house hacking bug from a friend who is doing it in Georgia.  I'm a full time lab tech at THE Ohio State University and I've been searching for a side hustle for well over a year now.  I like my job but it does not have a very high ceiling in terms of income and growth, but it comes with great benefits.  My early plan is to start by house hacking a multifamily property, saving up and purchasing a second property when the time is right.  Right now I am just getting educated and taking in the fire hose of information that's out there.  I am reading Larry Loftis's book on Investing in Duplexes, Triplexes & Quads, and "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" is next on the list.  I am listening to BP podcasts in the car and watching youtube videos on the subject.  BP forums have been a great source for where to look for good information!  A BP user also mentioned "Impact Theory" on youtube and I have been enjoying that as well, which leads me to ask ya'll:

How do you stay motivated (positive, hyped, excited etc) about, well, life?  I have taken some good strides the past 2 years and gotten my mental health in a good place, but it is a never ending battle.  The RE bug is getting me hyped, but this is NOT a get rich quick scene (which I like, it doesn't feel like a fad).  Any tips for keeping the energy up over the coming months?

I think the best way to keep the energy up is to write out your plan, whatever it is, and make it bold and visible. The energy will come as the plan is met and you can see real progress. Once you read Rich Dad Poor Dad, read The Morning Miracle.