Cashflow in New Jersey?

19 Replies

Hello BP members!

I live in Northern New Jersey and I am totally new at Real Estate Investing. I am eager to learn and make new connections with other investors to get out the rat race! 

Could you please help me with the following questions?

In your experience, how does NJ compare with neighboring states (NY, CT, PA) and also the rest of the USA for:

(1) cash flow and appreciation of real estate?

(2) ease of making deals and being a landlord?

Best regards,

Philippe

Hii Philippi

Welcome to BP! While I can't make direct comparisons to NY or Connecticut I can say the compared to PA, NJ is definitely a bit more challenging to get a decent return on your invested capital. This is true for many reasons but the two biggest in my opinion are cost of properties and property taxes. Both are considerably higher in NJ as well as insurance.

That being said, this is not to say you can't get a good return in NJ you just may have to look around and be more picky. I live and invest in NJ and investing out of state is something I have no interest in.

Thanks and good luck! Are you looking to invest in NJ or out of state?

Thanks and good luck

Chris

Originally posted by @Chris Masons :

Hii Philippi

Welcome to BP! While I can't make direct comparisons to NY or Connecticut I can say the compared to PA, NJ is definitely a bit more challenging to get a decent return on your invested capital. This is true for many reasons but the two biggest in my opinion are cost of properties and property taxes. Both are considerably higher in NJ as well as insurance.

That being said, this is not to say you can't get a good return in NJ you just may have to look around and be more picky. I live and invest in NJ and investing out of state is something I have no interest in.

Thanks and good luck! Are you looking to invest in NJ or out of state?

Thanks and good luck

Chris

Hi Chris.