Newbie wants to get start around Philly/KOP/NJ

27 Replies

Hi everyone, I am a newbie for BP and I want to start investing on multi-family properties since desk job is so boring and does not pay well. I live around NYC area and have been looking for NJ property around NYC (union city, jersey city, etc.) for couple months but the price is so high and tax literally kills the deal. My goal is positive cash flows collected from rent (with decent appreciation of course would be ideal) but I can barely find a deal to break even now around here. 

Considering future I may move to PA nearby places I am considering to start looking at properties in PA or around KOP. Since a newbie I am not looking for super crappy houses to fix up, ideally in good condition just need a bit cosmetics. Any suggestions where would be potential good areas to look into would be highly appreciated. Any area with decent cash flow, or can break even now but with potential of appreciation a decent amount of new constructions going, town re-development plan etc. not necessary to be duplex. open to townhouse, single family, 3-units etc.

Thank you!

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

Deals in NJ is not too bad, with High appreciation. Union city is a good place. 

Surely , PA cap rate is better but less potentials than NJ NY. 

@Tina Gao there are many areas in south Jersey that are yielding very attractive returns, with relatively low risk. DM if you are interested in discussing further.