Skip to content
Texas Real Estate Q&A Discussion Forum

User Stats

Votes
Marcello Mack
Votes |
how do you know what is considered a good deal in Houston?

Marcello Mack
Posted Jul 29 2020, 20:54

Hi BP!

I am new to REI and trying to educate myself as much as possible. Listening to different podcasts I hear a lot of investors buy property for under 100k, but I'm having difficulty finding properties around this ballpark. One strategy I really like is BRRRR, but how do you determine a good purchasing deal when it comes to multifamily/single-family properties? My market is Houston and I also try to take into consideration appreciation. btw if anyone wants to connect or willing to accept a mentee I am all for it! Thanks

User Stats

Votes
Rob Lee
  • Real Estate Agent / Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent / Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Replied Jul 29 2020, 21:21

Congrats on finding BP! If you are just getting started you may want to attend the BP webinar being hosted 8/5/20.  It's also a good idea to check out the BP bookstore. As far as price is concerned, %100k may not be realistic for your market. Real estate investing is not one size fits all. The key is to understand your market and figure out how you can make money where you want to invest. In addition to this site and the podcast, BiggerPockets also has a YT channel you may find useful. Best of luck!

User Stats

Votes
Collin Garbarino
  • Investor
  • Sugar Land, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Sugar Land, TX
Replied Jul 30 2020, 04:53

As @Rob Lee said, you have to know your market. But, you also need to spend some time figuring out your personal goals. Are you trying to make real estate a career? Looking to diversify your wealth for retirement? Once you've figured out your goals, you need to come up with your criteria. What kinds of investments will move you toward that goal? Only then can you determine if a deal will work for you.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored