Building / converting into ADU’s / granny flat / in law suite

38 Replies

So, I've considered adding a garage/ apartment to an existing SFR rental that cash flows well now and the numbers look very good with an additional unit rental, but, my concern is the single utility bill for both units on the one property. How to divide water and electric bills without tenant squabbles?

@Pooja C. WOW that's awesome! Other than the structural engineering team, was there other factors that caused 7 months to approve a permit for an ADU? Is your building going to be attached to deattached ?

Oh gosh!! 7 months for permits? I'm an ADU consultant in the South Bay. It is so important to have an architectural/engineering firms with specific experience building ADU's. I will be experiencing this first hand once I submit my plans. If anyone needs help or guidance reach out directly to me any time.

I am looking into it.  Toured Pacific Manufacture Homes last Friday.  Good value but to look more like a home, it requires burying ~3.5' which may mean transporting a lot of dirt (maybe spread it over the lot).

I am thinking of adding the ADU to higher end areas. Places that SFR cost close to $1M and rent for over $5K. Add a 1200' ADU (buried manufactured home with many of the upgrades) that rents for over $3K.

>$8K rent for <$1.3M in class B+ to A area and the associated quality tenant pool.  I realize this ratio is not a good/great ratio in class B-/C+, but this is a good ratio in class A areas.

We also need to be creative on the financing because we are up against conventional max loan count limits.

Challenges.  

We are likely waiting for us to finish rebuilding two units that caught fire recently. The entire front of the building has to come down. It is a time suck and I am unsure we can handle rebuilding the 2 units and taking on a purchase with ADU add on concurrently.

Originally posted by @Orlando Perez :

@Dan Heuschele

Are you thinking about prefabricated homes?