Skip to content
San Jose Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes

Real Estate Investing in CA v.s. cheaper hometown

Ricardo Peterson
Posted May 17 2020, 09:35

Hi all, I hope that there are plenty of folks in similar situations, that way responses to this post are valuable to many.

My spouse and I are in the Bay Area, and our net income will soon be 170K - 200K. 

Would it be feasible to live well below our means and begin investing in real estate locally, or would it be wiser to use this money to invest at a distance in cheaper cities? 

In my case, I have parents who live in an area with median home prices around ~250K (Phoenix Valley in AZ), which is far more manageable. They also have relationships with local agents and CPAs. I'm afraid that, with our income, there's a very high barrier to entry in the Bay. But yet again, 'landlording' at a distance has its challenges. 

Go easy on me since I'm still learning! 

Thanks in advance.

Account Closed
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Oakland, CA
Votes |
  • Oakland, CA
Replied May 17 2020, 10:30

You can enter the Bay Area market with 5% down. Don’t let the “barrier to entry” stop you. Buy a duplex/triplex with a low down payment, live in one unit. Make some sacrifices now and learn the landlord business. Rinse and repeat every few years. You have gold right in front of you. 

User Stats

Votes
Replied May 17 2020, 10:47

@Saj S.

I've done both. I live in the Los Angeles area and have a few rentals here. I also purchased a few rentals in my husbands' small hometown in Texas. Based solely on time, effort, and profit (TEP) I was far more successful with my Los Angeles properties. Being an absentee owner was VERY difficult. I lacked the knowledge on how to be an absentee owner properly (yes, that is something that needs to be learned) and I learned it the hard way. Feel free to reach out to me, and Ill shared all the knowledge I gained in both scenarios. Hope this was helpful.

Vacasa logo
Vacasa
|
Sponsored