Where would you put 1.3M cash in San Francisco right now?

15 Replies | San Francisco, California

I'm a 24-year resident excited to learn about the unique MF dynamics here.

What's the best first-investment strategy in today's SF market to maximize portfolio cash-flow in the future from this position?

Any suggestions on RE study focus or mentor criteria to begin a 20-year plan in this city also appreciated.

Hi Jemp,

I'm an investor and I live in SF. My investments are in the east bay as of now. I think the answer to you're question is everyone's favorite "it depends" response, but it really does. How active do you want to be in your investment? Do you have the time and willingness to rehab a SFR or a distressed multi-unit building? Or would you just like to invest in a stabilized property with good income and relatively good cap rate and go for the steady cash flow? Depending on what you're objectives are, as well as what strengths and unique skill sets you may have, that would most likely dictate the type of investment and property that would take you the furthest. Happy to provide further info and local market knowledge from my experience.

@Jemp Tolo welcome to the community. Fellow city dweller here but I don't nearly know the city as well as you do. I originally wanted to invest in the Bay but ended up going out-of-state. Recently closed on a 98-unit apartment in AZ. Although it's cash flowing the game plan is to multiply it as Nick mentioned.

If you're strictly looking for cash flow, you could take down a smaller multifamily in the city with all cash and it'd technically cash flow. That might not be the best use for the 1.3 considering there's no leverage from the banks, but what's 'best' is also subjective to your personal situation as Eduardo mentioned.