I can't find any cash-flowing properties?

18 Replies

Recently, I started working with an agent to find a rental property in Indianapolis. I keep hearing that it's one of the best markets for cash flow, and yet, I can't seem to find a property where the numbers work. I'm looking for single-family homes with 3+ bedrooms in good areas (good schools and low crime rates) and my ideal price range is $100,000 to $150,000. I looked at a few properties and the rent seems to be around 0.8% of the purchase price, at least according to Zillow. I ran some analyses with the Biggerpockets rental calculator, and pretty much any property ends up having minimal or negative cash flow.
Is there anything that I'm doing wrong? (I am new to real estate and this is my first time trying to buy a rental property.)

That's just the nature of the beast right now in most markets. The properties in low crime good school areas are over priced. What neighborhood(s) are you looking in? That's going to tell me what I need to answer your question. 

Someone else posted just about a month ago looking for the just about the same thing. My initial thought was "good luck" While the type of home you're looking for probably exists in the Indianapolis area, you're going to be paying a premium for an A or B area (nice 3bd  home, good schools/low crime) If you're paying a premium on the property, then your cash-flow numbers are going to be tough to make. 
If you are looking for cash-flow properties, consider a duplex. Rent won't be as high, but you're getting 2 rents for the price of one house. You also likely won't be in an A or B neighborhood. However a duplex (2 doors instead of one) might be a lot for your first. I don't know if you'd rather cut your teeth on a SFR first. What you originally described is out there, but they're few and far between now that Indianapolis has been brought to the attention of many investors.
Good Luck!