Need help in Indianapolis :)

17 Replies | Indianapolis, Indiana

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on BP, I'm living in California and I'm a newbie in this country and in this field. I've just got my real estate license here and I'm really interested to start my real estate adventure. But California is super expensive and I can't afford it, so my thought is to start in Indianapolis, because is cheaper. My partner is a very good handyman and our plan is to buy a distressed property there, to come over there and fix it, rent it out and repeat the process. But we don't know the area and we need somebody who has experience as an investor in that area to give us some advices. Any recommendations would be appreciated!

@Sorin Ruen I am an investor from Los Angeles and I have multiple properties in Indianapolis. My suggestion I stay away from the east side. Stay away from 46218 zip code . The west side is nice . The south side is up and coming. The north side is really nice but very pricey. Stay away from 38th street or Michigan street. Always check out the crime on Trulia since indy is very street by street

Originally posted by @Jason Malabute :

@Sorin Ruen I am an investor from Los Angeles and I have multiple properties in Indianapolis. My suggestion I stay away from the east side. Stay away from 46218 zip code . The west side is nice . The south side is up and coming. The north side is really nice but very pricey. Stay away from 38th street or Michigan street. Always check out the crime on Trulia since indy is very street by street

Thank you for your advice Jason, I really appreciate that! It is a little "scary" for me all this process. I intend to contact a real estate agent in that area. Do you have any suggestions? I need someone with experience in investment properties.