Votes
Mark Devens
  • Mankato, MN
Votes |
Flipping Mobile Homes...Does it work?

Mark Devens
  • Mankato, MN
Posted Mar 13 2016, 05:12

There's a lot of discussion about flipping houses, but what about mobile homes? I'm just starting out in real estate, but to me it makes sense (at least for a little guy like me), because there's less money invested, the finished product sells for less than a house, and there's always somebody looking for cheap living that can't or doesn't want to get a huge mortgage. Obviously I'm not talking about putting $100k into a mobile home, but maybe $2500 and sell it for $4000? Has anyone ever done this? Advice would be great!

Thanks

Marc

User Stats

Votes
Carrie Barrette
  • Shrewsbury, MA
Votes |
  • Shrewsbury, MA
Replied Mar 13 2016, 06:18

I would like to know this and how toassess their value. When I search them I get the value of the whole park!

User Stats

Votes
Replied Mar 13 2016, 08:08

The biggest problem with mobiles is your client base. They have next to no money to buy meaning you have to finance. In addition most community owners do not allow renting of homes in their community.

The reward is generally too low to warrant the effort.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Bill Neves
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Vancouver, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Vancouver, WA
Replied Mar 13 2016, 13:28

@Mark Devens 

We see much better numbers in the deals we do. You can get them for low dollars, fix up a bit and sell for a lot more.

Example: Buy for $500 with 2 months rent. Put in $7k in fix up money. Sell for $17k and net $9500.

@Carrie Barrette 

As far as value - Best and most accurate way - you have to do a market analysis of your area. Need to visit parks and get an idea what places are selling for.

Good luck and have fun!

User Stats

Votes