Buying materials for rental rehab?

21 Replies

Hey everyone,

I’m closing on a deal at the end of this month, this will be my first time going through a rehab for a property and hiring out the work. I’m hiring a handyman because most of the work is things like painting/ installing new fans and fixtures, and replacing kitchen cabinets.

For anyone with experience working with someone for the first time on a smaller job like this, do you prefer to pick up all the materials yourself and drop them off at the house, or give the person you’re hiring a list from Home Depot or Lowe’s and have them do all of the running around and purchasing? Pros and cons to either method?

Thanks for your help!

I choose the items on the Home Depot or Lowe’s app and pay for them for in store pick up 

I call and tell them the name of the person picking up the order 

I text a pic of the order and order number to the handy man

As a contractor, I recommend materials to my clients but I prefer to pick them up myself since there are usually other rough in materials that are not accounted for or tend to be forgotten about and having to make a trip out to the store when your customer was just there is frustrating for both.  I assist my property managers and homeowners on what the best material is for their money or by giving an option 1 and option 2 since the money they have to spend is a key factor in this business.  From a contractor's standpoint, the pro is making sure you have everything, the con is spending the time to do so and the unknown specs from the material selected.  I usually include labor and material in my estimate and account for everything, unless the customer decides they want to select the material.  In that case, I request to review prior to purchase to check specs, measurements and dimensions (depending on materials of course) only because I have been in situations where the homeowner selected materials and it became a disaster because they did not measure anything.  Any