Notes funds for individual investors. What are the best players?

35 Replies

Hello everybody,

I am strongly considering part of my SDIRA to be in Notes funds. I am looking for high quality players in the industry with great historical record.
Let's talk about good and "not so good" funds!
I would appreciate any leads/opinions.
I am new to the Notes and my impression is - the notes funds are very difficult to understand in terms of historical risks, their transparency. there is no much of the SEC regulation/reporting requirements like, say, in mutual funds.

Are there any financial analysis stats out there, rankings et cetera? Are these funds legit, here to stay???

Or is this Notes fund market is short- lived hype created by recent mortgage crisis and huge inventory?

I have several investments in PPRs fund.  They invest in non-performing seconds and get them re-performing.  12% yield (1% of your investment every month) and then after 3 years, your capital investment is returned.  I have not been in these 3 years yet but I can tell you that they have NEVER missed a payment thus far.  You need to be an accredited investor to invest in most of these I believe. 

I invested in PPR because they have an entry minimum of $10,000.  I think that National Note Group and other funds may have a higher ($50,000) entry point.

There are several note investors here on BP that have funds or will be starting funds soon.  I hope they chime in and tell us about their funds as I would like to know what funds are out there and what the minimum investment is.

@Demjan Van Der Kach @Sandy Uhlmann Sandy is right, there are lots of funds out there and most of them are legit. PPR is a great company and my experience with Dave Van Horne is that he's an honest and trustworthy guy.