JV arrangement for notes

30 Replies

Hi,

I'm new to note investing and I am considering a JV arrangement to get my feet wet and learn more about the process. Is it typical in a JV arrangement for the newbie to provide ALL the money and the experienced person to provide the know how and actually do the work (most of it anyway) for a 50/50 split? I ask because I'm a little uncomfortable that the "expert" has no real skin in the game and if it went sideways they aren't out anything but time. I'd appreciate any feedback regarding folks experience with JV agreements regarding notes. Thanks in advance!!

Yes, most of the JVs I've seen are where you fund 100% of the acquisition and work out cost, the experienced investor finds/vets/leads the deal and work out process, and then profits are split 50/50. 

There are several previous threads that might be helpful:

http://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/70/topics/4251...

Type the following in a Google search: 

site:http://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/70 jv

Wow a good broker can sell you a performing note were you get 100% and walk you through it.. all your money and their great idea  Not sure about that.. LOL

@Mickey Bradshaw Yes, that is the norm.  Anything is negotiable though.  If you'd feel more comfortable with the active partner putting some cash in the deal, then ask for it.  They may want more than 50% split though, depending on how much cash is involved. 

@Linda Hastings thanks so much for your input!! I noticed in that first link that you mentioned that you were evaluating whether or not to do a JV agreement a year ago or so. Did you ever end up doing it? If so, would you mind sharing your experience? Btw, that google search that you gave me is perfect!!!

@Tim Simmons, thank you for your feedback.  I anticipated that it may be negotiable.  I might ask them to add some cash to the deal and see what happens.  

@Mickey Bradshaw