Skip to content
New York City Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
William Cheung
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York, NY
Votes |
East Harlem and Northern Manhattan House Hack - Is it possible?

William Cheung
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York, NY
Posted Jul 13 2018, 15:17

Hi BP, I'm a RE broker who's looking to purchase his first investment property. I think there's great upside potential in East Harlem and Northern Manhattan (Hamilton Heights, Washington Heights, etc), and as a single guy, I love the idea of doing a house hack. Is it possible to buy a 2-4 family townhouse/SRO that needs a total renovation and BRRRR/house hack it?

I'm running the numbers and I can't quite make it work, so if anyone has any insight or experience in the neighborhood, please share. Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Calvin Lipscomb
  • Brooklyn, NY
Votes |
  • Brooklyn, NY
Replied Jul 13 2018, 19:38
Originally posted by @William Cheung:

Hi BP, I'm a RE broker who's looking to purchase his first investment property. I think there's great upside potential in East Harlem and Northern Manhattan (Hamilton Heights, Washington Heights, etc), and as a single guy, I love the idea of doing a house hack. Is it possible to buy a 2-4 family townhouse/SRO that needs a total renovation and BRRRR/house hack it?

I'm running the numbers and I can't quite make it work, so if anyone has any insight or experience in the neighborhood, please share. Thanks in advance!

What do you mean by "can't quite make it work"?  The asking price might be to high to start.  Numbers can also be relative.  Are you expecting to pay zero out of pocket per month? 

User Stats

Votes
William Cheung
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York, NY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York, NY
Replied Jul 13 2018, 22:11