Looking for a retirement worksheet for real estate

9 Replies

Hey guys! I'm somewhat new to Bigger Pockets. I'm a newer investor and a real estate agent. I'd like to gear my real estate business towards helping people build long term wealth through real estate. I was wondering if anyone had a worksheet that could be used to sit down with clients and help them map out a plan to grow a real estate portfolio and retirement plan. I don't have specifics as to what would be on this worksheet, just looking for some ideas so I could potentially create my own. Thanks in advance!

I don't have one for you. But I made something similar to that in excel. Took me maybe 15 minutes. Excel worked slick because as I Input numbers my results change real time vs pen and paper. Now I know for my goals I need 10 houses with $400/month cash flow to reach that goal. It doesn't have to be fancy, just something simple that shows cash flow after rents, expenses, etc. It might help to include ROI. Once you get this setup you will be able to change the numbers as needed for each client. If you really want to get fancy you could turn it into a bar graph showing appreciation, cashflow, etc over time.

That's helpful Brent Paul. I'm visualizing something that starts with determining how much the client would like to make monthly from real estate in retirement then backing that number out to determine how many houses they'd have to accumulate by their retirement date. Thanks!

This could be really simple if that is all you want.

A1 = Desired monthly income.

A2 = Assumed monthly income per property.

A3 = A1 / A2

Is that all you want?  I don't think you will impress anyone with that.  You probably need to get more into how much your client needs to save to buy the first property, then the second, etc over time.  Go over the expected costs, reserves and projected revenues to get to the A2 value.  A2 is a workbook for me per property.