• New to Real Estate
  • Dallas Forth Worth
Votes |
Credit Repairs by Lenders

Ephraim Teke
  • New to Real Estate
  • Dallas Forth Worth
Posted Jan 17 2020, 04:30

I am a newbie with zero experience and looking forward to getting my first SFH to househack in the DFW area using FHA loan. I contacted a lender, and the lender has a third party credit repair program to help build my credit scores. Has anyone on BP ever undergone credit counseling from a third party program of this nature? Could there be any hidden agendas or obligations after the repair process? Prior to this lender, I was referred by a bank to a credit repair counselor who asked for a ridiculously high fee.

User Stats

Votes
Neil Aggarwal
  • Lender
  • Richardson, TX
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Richardson, TX
Replied Jan 17 2020, 07:11

I never believed in credit repair companies. You can do it all yourself. Live frugally and pay off your debt. I don't need to pay someone to tell me that.

User Stats

Votes
Ephraim Teke
  • New to Real Estate
  • Dallas Forth Worth
Votes |
  • New to Real Estate
  • Dallas Forth Worth
Replied Jan 17 2020, 07:21

Neil, thanks for that advice. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Jennifer Ryan
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Arlington, TX
Votes |
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Arlington, TX
Replied Jan 17 2020, 08:55

Hi & welcome Ephriam!

When I was a practicing Realtor, there were a few occasions where my clients really needed the credit repair help so they had been referred to a credit repair person by one of my "Go To” & trusted lenders. (Notice the verbiage?)

In each case though, my client’s credit really affected either their ability to get a loan or, to get one at a low rate and the credit repair made all the difference.