Norfolk a good place for investing?

31 Replies

For a first time buy, is Norfolk a good idea to start my Real Estate career? I want a Duplex to house hack but I don't want to live in a dangerous area. So in that regards I'd rather use my VA loan to buy a single family home in Norfolk and flip it. Any response could really help me.

I currently live in Norfolk and it's not a bad area. Duplexes in Norfolk are running $750-850 monthly in rent. So I think buying a duplexes would be a great investment in Norfolk cash flow potential great!

Hey Emerson, my name is Sheen and we have the same niche. Not only do we have the same niche, but our backgrounds are the same. I am a Marine Corp veteran, and I had a Va loan that was sitting idly by until Jan 20th. On Jan 20th I closed on my first duplex in Oceanview, Norfolk. I live in the top and rent the bottom out for $900. I too when starting out had an unbalanced debt to income ratio, and looked at the same avenue to get my life on track. Everything that you could ever ask for is in the forums, on podcasts, and in the books. If you don't have someone to bounce questions off of, and don't feel comfortable using the forums feel free to ask me. I'm definitely not an expert, but I feel like I can relate to your profile so well that I may be able to shine lights in some dark areas you may have. It's kind of crazy, but we had the same 2016 goal written out! Hope to hear from you, or good things about you!

I've looked a lot at oceanview as well. A lot of small multifamily there, and neighborhood is on the rise (thought there's still quite a big gap in income - 500k homes often sit right beside section 8 multifamily). Probably a great play for longterm hold, especially if development continues. 

@Tysheen Ford - do you have to pay flood insurance? And are units metered seperately?