Eviction Strategy Question

19 Replies | Upstate New York, New York

We have just acquired a new property and we are having issues with one tenant.  She has a spotty payment history and has already broken a deal we stuck last Friday to pay on Monday.  Rent was due on the 1st and here we are on the 17th.  She has a month to month lease, we are going to give her a written demand for payment on Monday.  Which is the safer path, should we pursue eviction or just try a 30 day notice since she is month to month?

I would speak with a lawyer about this. However it is definitely easier to get a tenant out via 30 day notice than eviction. The issue here is you have no rent for July. And if you give a notice (really 1 full month notice in NY) they aren't legally out till Sept 1st.... So my guess is that you'll probably want to go through with an eviction. But I am not a lawyer, so I def would speak with one first!

https://www.ag.ny.gov/sites/default/files/pdfs/pub... :

A month-to-month tenancy outside New York City may be terminated by either party by giving at least one month’s notice before the expiration of the tenancy. For example, if the landlord wants the tenant to move out by November 1 and the rent is due on the first of each month, the landlord must give notice by September 30.

Promotion
RentRedi
Smart Tech For The Smart Landlord
The Smart Way To Manage Your Rentals
Enjoy growing your portfolio without paying more for it. Unlimited units & easy-to-use apps.
Get Unlimited Units