[Calc Review] Help me analyze this deal

10 Replies

This is my first analysis. I'm hoping my numbers aren't too far off. I've been listening to bigger pockets now for about 6 months and have learned alot. Thought it was time for me to get my toes wet. 

If you see anything blatantly screaming "incorrect info", please share your concerns.

Thanks in advance,  

$84K for $1100 knocks the 1% rule out of the park. Looks like you're spending $10K to get $300 cash flow, assuming you'll refinance the costs of rehabbing and you leave the $10K in it. This deal is very exciting to me and I would absolutely jump on it. 36% ROI, how is that a bad thing?

Hi @Aaron Furr , I read your blog article and the deal analysis.  Have you considered Section 8 housing?  You'd have similar drawbacks in terms of clientele, but at least the checks would be more regular.  More info here.

Also, consider finding a local property manager before you close on this deal, and ask them for their advice.  It'll be hard to find a PM who specializes in managing transitional housing, so it might make sense to start that process sooner rather than later, so you can be ready when you find that deal which makes you say "Heck yes".

Hey there @Richie Thomas,

Thanks for this article and advice. I can understand where the PM could be a headache, I'm currently debating whether it would be beneficial for my wife to take this role as we are about to have our first child. This would allow her more time with the baby, and I could pay her wages rather than a stranger. Yes, I understand there are drawbacks to this, such as, lack of experience but she, like me, is a very fast motivated learner. What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks for all that have given input,