[Calc Review] Help me analyze this deal in South Colorado Springs

7 Replies

View report

*This link comes directly from our calculators, based on information input by the member who posted.

--

Hi all, I am new to bigger pockets and analyzing deals. I saw this one online and have been running the calculations and it keeps coming up as a negative cash-on-cash return. Is this just a bad deal or am I running the numbers incorrectly? Is there any way this could be a good deal with a lower purchase price or other changes? Also, a possibly related question: The county assessor listed the property value at $299k so is the asking price of $460k way too high or is there a disconnect between assessor valuation and price? Thanks for any and all replies!

@Ryan Fisher

Nothing stands out as crazy off on the expense side. Are you using actuals for utilities, MGMT, taxes, etc? How far below market are rents and what would it take ($$$) to get the property up to standards to command market rents? Without knowing much I’d say over priced and pass. Didn’t run the numbers myself but all things equal it’s probably a deal around $350-375 from eyeballing but a lot depends on what your standards are for an investment.

Hi @Ryan Fisher , I'd be curious how closing costs on a $460k property are $3,000, and how there are $0 in repair costs on a 4-plex (with what I'm guessing are varying degrees of tenant quality).

The seller likely views it as "great cash-on-cash return" because they bought it in 2011 for $175,000:

When they say "great cash-on-cash return", they're probably referring to their own ROI, i.e. how much they're earning compared to how much they invested back in 2011. They're probably renting each of the four 2-bedroom units for $800+ a pop (or more, since I see you've got a total monthly income of $3,700 all-in). That is indeed a "great cash-on-cash return" if you bought at $175k back in 2011. It's a crap return if you buy at $460k in 2020.