What are the best ways to find local real estate investors?

10 Replies

I'm new to the business and from what I've learned, wholesaling real estate is a great way to produce some minor income for those without capital. I'm 18 and I reside in the Inland Empire area of southern California.

What are the best ways to find and build relationships with local investors/ cash buyers?

Thank you in advance.

@Damian Santos   start by looking for local members of BP and start connecting with them.

@Damian Santos  

If you are active wholesaling, you should be able to develop great relationships with investors. You'll be able to determine pretty quickly who the serious ones are. Let them know that you are looking to develop a long-term relationship. 

Bigger Pockets is also a great resource if you use it. Do a zip code search and reach out to investors who know what they are talking about. 

Join your local real estate investors association (REIA). It's a great way to network with people in the industry.

Welcome to Bigger Pockets.  while I'll leave determination of the "best" way to others, here are some ways I've found work:

attend/join as many REIAs as you can.  you find buyers there in the form of flippers, rehabbers, etc. 

network - search for anything RE related and go to it, you never know who you'll meet

contact real estate agents - ask them if they work with investors and take them to lunch, develop a relationship with these people.  they know buyers and would be happy to help you - perhaps for a fee though, but it's a cost of business

contact loan officers: like me, we have list of people who've purchased rental properties before, and can get a list of them.  also doesn't hurt to have yet another connection in the RE world.

find a few hard money lenders:  these are the guys who provide short term financing to flippers and rehabbers.  they know tons of active people looking to buy properties.