Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
N/A N/A
Votes |
How to get started????

N/A N/A
Posted Aug 3 2008, 10:49

I'm new to real estate investing. I have been researching the New Jersey area for quite some time but I'm not really sure how to get started. I'm also looking for a local Real Estate Investment club as well as a mentor. Any help would be appreciated.

Regards
James

Account Closed
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Fort Wayne, IN
Votes |
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Fort Wayne, IN
Replied Nov 23 2007, 03:29

On the left side of this site you will find different categories. Scroll down until you see LOCAL RESOURCES. Click on real estate investment club and there is a list of clubs in different states. Even if you find one in NJ that is not close to you I'm sure they can send you in the right direction. You could also google it. Good luck!

User Stats

Votes
Christian Morency
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Millbrook, AL
Votes |
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Millbrook, AL
Replied Nov 23 2007, 18:28

Just do it.
Make an offer on paper in contract form with or without a real estate agent.
Even if you don't have the money. you will be surprised at the doors that will open "AFTER" you take ACTION.
Just do it!
You can ask us questions if you have any problems.
We are here to help.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Dorkin
Pro Member
  • BiggerPockets Founder
  • Maui, HI
Votes |
Pro Member
  • BiggerPockets Founder
  • Maui, HI
Replied Nov 23 2007, 20:25

How much of a newbie are you? Do you know what kind of investing you want to start with? The first thing I'd figure out is what you want to focus on - buy and hold, wholesaling, rehab & flip, etc. Make that decision and then focus on learning what you can about that area of REI.