Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

Is the real estate market different in Canada?

Posted Jul 17 2018, 06:59

Hello everyone, 

Regards from Eastern Canada.  I am a newbie in the real estate business and I am hunting a deal to get my first property; however when I am trying to follow the suggested rules to analyze a deal it seems the market here in Canada is a bit different.  For example, the suggested rule that your monthly rent income should be at least 1% of the price you paid for a property seems a little bit too high for the market here in Ontario, Canada.  Can anyone give me your opinion on this?  Thanks in advance!!!!

Andrea

User Stats

Votes
Omar Khan
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
  • Dallas, TX
Replied Jul 17 2018, 07:40

@Andrea Echeverria The advice on BP is, mostly, specific to America only. US and Canada are very different - prices, financing, supply/demand factors, etc. Most of the analyzers you will use do not take into account the peculiarities of the Canadian market (and it shouldn't because this is an America website).

@Roy N. is from East Canada and should be able to guide you. 

User Stats

Votes
Roy Cleeves
Pro Member
  • Residential Real Estate Broker
  • Kitchener, Ontario
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Residential Real Estate Broker
  • Kitchener, Ontario
Replied Jul 17 2018, 08:08

Hello Andrea:  That used to work 15 years ago yet not now.

I am in Ontario in Kitchener Waterloo and we are happy to find a property that can break even for cashflow or have a small positive or small negative each month and it still works out as a good investment due to the expected appreciation in value over time and the expected rent appreciation over time and the paydown on the mortgage over time.