Votes
DaJuan Thigpen
  • Baton Rouge, LA
Votes |
Buying Property Under LLC Vs. Under Your Name

DaJuan Thigpen
  • Baton Rouge, LA
Posted Feb 2 2018, 09:51

I am new to real estate investing and I have decided to commit myself to real estate investing. I am attempting to make my first investment purchase which will be a condo. I was wondering if it is better to purchase the condo under an LLC. or purchase it under my name? I plan to put down 20%.

Also, would it be possible to have property funded through a private lender and do a cash finance, and then refinance the property? 

Please advise as I will need all the advice and assistance I could possibly receive. Thanks in advance. 

User Stats

Votes
Harjeet Bhatti
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Glenview IL- CDLP NMLS#230554
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Glenview IL- CDLP NMLS#230554
Replied Feb 2 2018, 15:52

You can finance under commercial loan When you buy property under LLC . When its under personal name you can refinance under conventional loan. 15% down payment is minimum requirement for 1 unit under conventional loan. There are so many HML who can offer you finances. BP has so many good name which you can use for HML.

User Stats

Votes
Sam Grooms
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Phoenix, AZ
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Phoenix, AZ
Replied Feb 2 2018, 15:59

Depends on your state. Most people will tell you flat out that you should get an LLC. However, if it's expensive to do so in your state, an insurance policy might be a more cost effective option, with the same protection. Lending will also usually be easier if the property is in your name.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Jeremy Kuchenbecker
  • Investor
  • Winter Garden , FL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Winter Garden , FL
Replied Feb 2 2018, 17:41