• Portsmouth, OH
Votes |
Rural Markets

Adam Heim
  • Banker
  • Portsmouth, OH
Posted Apr 2 2015, 19:30

Hello All,

new user on BP. Ive been "creeping" on forums and listening to podcasts for a few months now and have decided to become more active. :-)

I live in a semi-rural area.  With cheap home prices and low cost of borrowing... Is there any money to be made in rural / semi-rural areas?  Any advice any one can offer?  

I have some experience as a landlord.  Im mainly looking for more passive ways of building sustainable long term wealth, not interested in the overnight success or endlesa days rehabbing homes, as this would be supplemental income.

Thanks and look forward to learning more!

Adam

User Stats

Votes
Matthew Berry
  • Investor
  • Big Lake, MN
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Big Lake, MN
Replied Aug 14 2016, 15:48

Adam Heim -
How are things going in your rural community? Find any good deals? Learn any rural marketing techniques?

User Stats

Votes
Mitch Brunette
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Burnsville, MN
Votes |
  • Burnsville, MN
Replied Feb 20 2018, 19:04

Hey guys,

Doesn’t look like much activity on your question here. I’ve started searching rural as well. I own one property in Lakeville MN that is doing well. Looking at multiple doors with the next purchase.

Theres a podcast from November 2015 or 2014 about rural investing. Plan to listen tomorrow.

If either of you have made any progress on rural, I’d love to hear it.

Thanks, Mitch.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Gordon French
  • Pueblo, CO
Votes |
  • Pueblo, CO
Replied Feb 21 2018, 07:01

I love rural. I own 11 properties in a town with a population of 7,000. 
I am doing very well financially and all of my properties cash flow.