Votes
Arsalan J Khan
Pro Member
Votes |
30 vs 40 year

Arsalan J Khan
Pro Member
Posted May 19 2023, 14:22

I’m just getting into my real estate journey and am working on understanding all my financing options when it comes to my first purchase. I recently spoke with a lender that is able to offer a 40 year mortgage with 10 years of interest up front. Wondering if anyone has experience with this type of loan? I know the overall interest is higher but the trade off of a low monthly seems to make up for it? What’s the drawback other than higher interest paid?

Purchase: 1,100,000

25% down

12k monthly income from rent 

User Stats

Votes
Robin Simon#1 Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice Contributor
  • Lender
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Robin Simon#1 Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice Contributor
  • Lender
  • Austin, TX
Replied May 20 2023, 05:57

by 10 years of interest "upfront" you mean the first 10 years of the term are interest-only, right?  Not like an upfront payment at closing of 10 years of interest?

User Stats

Votes
Arsalan J Khan
Pro Member
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied May 20 2023, 07:29

No the interest is paid over the first 10 years 

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Bill Brandt#3 1031 Exchanges Contributor
  • Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Replied May 20 2023, 10:31

I would consider it basically a 10 year interest only loan. As “the experts say” there is zero chance interest rates won’t be lower sometime in the next 10 years and you’ll refinance, or you’ll sell. 

Personally I hate interest only loans but I hate paying interest. I understand it has it uses. Is it all you can afford or does it do something for you a regular loan can’t do at a reasonable cost? If so go ahead. 

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member