Debt:Income Ratio - How do I know if I'll qualify?

6 Replies

Hello BP,

Now that I'm in The Big Apple, my girlfriend and I are looking to get into REI and build our future here. As a professional trader, I am expecting to have a pretty good salary, so most of the REI business although a joint venture, will be on my fiance's part full-time. We were planning on saving $50k to use as down payments towards some mortgages to obtain cash flow properties. However, being in NYC 10% down is probably more like $75,000-$100,000 for a small apartment in the city or any houses in the other boroughs. So this all leaves me wondering:

1) Should I consider investing long-distance where I can use family/friends as PM in Indiana or Las Vegas?

2) How do I calculate debt:income and whether I can qualify?

3) How many mortgages can I get?

4) Are the standards the same on down-payment for a multi-family unit? Ideally, I would like to snag up some multi-family buildings in the boroughs outside Manhattan, and perhaps something I could get an FHA loan on and live rent-free.

Perhaps, @Albert Bui  or @Darren Sager  could chime in here. You are both experts in these areas, respectively. 

Thanks In Advance.

DTI in rental income is similar to buying an owner occupied non rental property but the main difference is that you now have income and depending if you live there or don't live there the income is calculated differently and to compound that rents vary per unit per area and the formula you use varies with different FHA/HUD areas.

Rent income when vacating a primary to buy another has its own procedures as well and requirements.

When you mean multi family do you mean 1-4? Hope so because 5+ is a response too long for for the scope of this response.

It's recommended you find a professional.