Professional advice needed in Orange County for a SDIRA newbie

5 Replies

I am currently a commercial property manager for a local firm in O.C. I'm seeking professional guidance to jump in and invest in real estate through self directed IRA, funded and ready to go. I am in the process of renewing my RE license (which has never been used for a transaction). Not sure I want to do flips or buy and holds but may be interested in investing passively with the right trustworthy individuals. Need great tax advisor to show me all the benefits of RE investing through self directed IRA and to see if I should be doing this full time!

Feel free to ask questions Roxanne, there are many experienced SDIRA professionals present on BiggerPockets. 

If you're looking to learn more, my BiggerPockets blog has lots of real estate IRA related content available.

Cheers!

@Roxanne Baisden

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!

I agree with @Loren Whitney. There is plenty of knowledge here. Do you have any specific questions?

When you talk about "doing this full time" are you still referring to investing with your self-directed IRA? I ask because while that is a great way to build IRA asset value, it typically doesn't do anything to provide a current income unless you are ready to take some form of distribution from your account.

@Roxanne Baisden   Welcome to BP.  Lots of questions with your post.  

1.  What kind of account do you have?  Is it truly self-directed or do you have a middle man (company) who has access to your funds and you must work threw them?  I self-directed my money in a truly self directed account with @Dmitriy Fomichenko and have not looked back since.

2.  I have used my money to fund fix and flips in Los Angeles, purchased two condos for buy and hold and currently looking to partner with fix and flips in Orange County.