Lender Scams and Warning Signs: Beware & Protect Yourself!

90 Replies

Another recent thread on this forum caught my attention, and I thought it important to post this discussion . . .

I'd like to get feedback from our members, including the investors, professionals, and lenders about lender scams that might be out there.

If you've aware of ANY kind of scam or scandalous practice that traditional, private, or hard money lenders are currently engaging in, please share them here. I'd like this thread to hopefully become the go-to place to find out how not to get screwed when it comes to getting a loan.

So . . . lets see what you've got to say:

I have been chasing money for many years now and it is almost universal that people who ask for money:

1. Up front
2. Outside of escrow

that does not involve paying for appraisals or other reasonable costs are scams. Legitimate funding sources can generally provide references too and can rattle off deals they have recently done.

If people pass those hurdles the is a high probability they are legit.

Additionally, in addition to references albeit simple and basic, I recommend to ALWAYS check the company you are looking to do business with out on www.bbb.org. I personally feel that any legitimate business should be an Accredited Business with the BBB.

Lastly, although simple, do a simple Google Search on the company name, company phone number, and company e-mail address of the company and individual you are considering doing business with. This will provide you a substantial amount of information about the company your considering working with (good, bad and indifferent).