Votes
Jason H.
  • Lawton, OK
Votes |
Eviction process Lawton, OK

Jason H.
  • Lawton, OK
Posted Jan 19 2016, 09:07

I have been managing rentals for 5 years now, I currently have 11 Sfh rentals.  I have always screened tenants and have had great luck so far.  But, I have a tenant who has been staying a month behind on rent for a while now, I have tried to work with her, but she is only getting worse, she just informed me that she can't make a payment for 2 more weeks until she gets paid, by then she will be 2 months behind.  Keep in mind that she was telling me the same thing 2 weeks ago.   I need to start the eviction process, but never having had to do this, I am not sure on the exact process.  I believe I have to do the 5 days pay or quit notice, but i don't know if this has to be legally served or not.  Could anyone who has experience with this in Oklahoma, specifically Comanche County please give me some advice, I would greatly appreciate it.  Thanks in advance.

User Stats

Votes
Kyle J.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Northern, CA
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Northern, CA
Replied Jan 19 2016, 09:28

I'm not from Oklahoma but I did some research and it looks like the first step is to serve a Pay or Quit notice.  (You should do that right away at this point.)  There's even one in the File Place here on BP that you could take a look at to see if it will work for you:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/toben/file/oklahoma-5-day-notice-pay-or-quit

Assuming the tenant doesn't pay in the allotted time, here's an overview of the entire eviction process:

http://oklaw.org/resource/eviction-for-non-payment-of-rent?ref=62V48

Good luck.

User Stats

Votes
Rhett Tullis
Property Manager
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Votes |
Property Manager
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Replied Jan 19 2016, 09:39