What Do I need to know about Septic systems?

8 Replies

Hi folks,

I'm about to purchase a country home with a septic system. I have no experience with this sort of plumbing, so looking for pro-tips. What do I need to know/look for when purchasing a home with a septic system? What kind of care and maintenance is required? Finally, are there any tenant nightmare scenarios I should know about and tips to avoid them?

Thank you so much!!!

Most tenants don't understand how a septic system works, just like you. It's your responsibility to learn about them and then educate your tenants. I provide an addendum to my lease with guidance on the Do's and Dont's of a septic. 

Rather than spend time typing something up, I invite you to read this article or email me and I will share my addendum that I provide my tenants.

Septic systems should be inspected by a licensed septic professional.  If they are cared for, just like anything else, they will last 20-50 years.  The biggest issue people run into is that if there is a major repair, your city/county may not allow it and force you to update your whole system,  which can cost upward of $20k.  Septic system regulations here in Texas change frequently, so be sure to understand what you can and cannot do.  Also, be sure to get a copy of the septic system permit before you buy and verify that the current system is what is permitted.  If the previous owner did rogue repairs, you could be asking for a lot of headaches.  

If this is for a rental, be sure to educate your tenants and have DO's and DONT's in the lease.  Just like any other sewer line issues, if it is general wear and tear/tree roots/etc. landlord is responsible.  If the tenant has the information and it is in the lease, any foreign material that causes issues is their responsibility to cover.