• Rental Property Investor
  • Seattle, WA
Votes |
My tenant is suing me...🙄

Christen G.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Seattle, WA
Posted Apr 8 2021, 11:58

Hey folks, looking for any experiences you can share that are similar and/or advice on how to best prepare for this upcoming Mediation date. I've never done this before.

Here's the story: we inherited a Section8 tenant that just went south. She was occasionally volatile and unhinged on phone calls and wouldn't let me in for a walk-through/move-in inspection at first (seller hadn't done one) when we took over until I explained twice how much it was in her best interest to do so. Anyway I finally got in, found some broken blinds and other small things and fixed those - and felt we were off to a good start. But she got a little squirley - had a gentlemen living there that wasn't on the lease, would call at all hours of the night and leave weird messages, etc... my PM called her, "the worst I've ever has" - which sucked for him. Anyway she got squirley around re-upping the lease vs. moving out when it was time. She finally vacated - albeit not on the proper terms - without proper notice and left a decent amount of damage. She also owed back rent and late fees (this was all pre-covid) and she didn't show up to do a walk-out, etc... 

We followed the lease and law to a T, sent over the damages/reconciliation, etc... and she ghosted. I thought I'd never see that $1400ish and was ok with that, we were going to get great tenants for that unit. Then I was tipped off to a city service called Landlord Mitigation Fund where, if you're housing a Section 8 tenant and they leave you high and dry like this, you can submit proof and they'll issue you a check. How lovely. I compiled it all (lease, notices, reconciliation, etc...) and 8 weeks later I got a check. Lovely, case closed, right? Wrong.