Avni Choksi
  • Jamison, PA
Votes |
Recent College Grad

Avni Choksi
  • Jamison, PA
Posted May 19 2014, 08:14

Hello

I graduated college in june 2013 landed a job in a rotational program ( i move every 8 months to a different location for 2 years to understand various aspects of the business)

I currently have no debt except for minor credit card bills nor do I have a dependent and have a decent credit score

I was wondering if someone could provide some guidance on how to properly invest my savings...i was trying to look into real estate except i am unsure because I currently move every 8 months until july 2015.

Thanks

Avni

User Stats

Votes
Joel Owens
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Canton, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Canton, GA
ModeratorReplied May 19 2014, 08:17

Amount you have to start with??

User Stats

Votes
Avni Choksi
  • Jamison, PA
Votes |
  • Jamison, PA
Replied May 19 2014, 08:20

i currently have 20k in my savings account, i am not quite sure how comfortable i am to use all of it

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Danny Day
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Houston, TX
Replied May 19 2014, 08:37

How much time to do you have to invest in real estate?

Time is money after all - the more time you can put into the investment, usually the greater reward you should have.

Since you move every 8 months, maybe something passive would work best. If you've got $20k in savings, I would work on building that up while building (what I think) is the most important skill in RE investing -- sourcing your own deals.

Lots of info on BP on sourcing your own deals. Search through and figure out how to do this.. if you are not able to find what works for you, wholesale it to another investor and keep building that savings account.